Be the Change You Want to See

What do you do when life gives you lemons?  What do you do when you are down? When you feel alone? When you are depressed?  When the weight of the world is on your shoulders or demons are taunting you? What do you do when you are addicted to substances? What do you do when you are born without arms and legs?

http://www.lifewithoutlimbs.org/

One of my children watched a video at school and told us about it tonight.  As I type this, we are watching a video on YouTube of Nick Vujicic.  If you have not met him or seen his videos, I strongly encourage you stop what you are doing and listen.

http://video.search.yahoo.com/video/play;_ylt=A2KLqIJvnyJSQTIA_j37w8QF;_ylu=X3oDMTBzY2FuYmVtBHNlYwNzcgRzbGsDdmlkBHZ0aWQDBGdwb3MDMzA-?p=nick+vujicic+no+arms+no+legs+no+worries+video&vid=a162b70843502abe77ce510917001bc3&l=56%3A15&turl=http%3A%2F%2Fts1.mm.bing.net%2Fth%3Fid%3DV.4877146937820944%26pid%3D15.1&rurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DZqG4asYlY_A&tit=Nick+Vujicic+-+No+Arms+No+Legs+No+Worries%21&c=29&sigr=11asr9uhv&age=0&fr=aaplw&tt=b

“Be the change you want to see”.

There was a time in my life, when everything seemed dark, everything seemed the walls were closing in.  I will not go into details on this, just understand that the message in one of Jeremy Camp’s songs “I’ll Take You Back” helped me slowly second by second, minute by minute, day by day call out to Christ and ask for help.  I hit rock bottom, was hurting and literally had no where else to go.  That help came as promised.  It took months then slowly improved over several years, but it did happen.

http://jeremycamp.com/

Recently, I went to Europe with my family.  The trip was great.  As we were preparing to leave Germany to return home, my wife stopped by an ATM only to discover that all of the money in our account was gone.  In the end, we were sitting in Europe, no money, unable to purchase a ticket to fly home.  We did not originally get a round trip ticket to begin with because we didn’t know when we were going to return home.  I was unable to purchase food, unable to grab a cab, unable to secure a hotel room. We found out that someone at an ATM in Germany and another ATM in Italy had used an electronic card reader scamming device, obtained our codes and drained our accounts.  It was a major kick in the stomach.  I had some cash on me but not much. It appeared we were stuck.  We tried to logically sit and work through all of our options and what could we do about this. My wife and I sat in the lobby of a hotel near the airport and quietly prayed together.  I begged God for a miracle.  I looked at my family.  I had to take care of them.  I felt helpless.  I could not change these circumstances.  I took pride in educating my family before and during our travels to watch out and defend ourselves against pick-pocketers.   However, thieves stole our money electronically and figuratively left us at the road-side.  My wife called the bank.  They could mail us a new card but would take two weeks.  They turned off our credit card and debit cards to prevent any further fraudulent withdrawals.  I looked at my wife and said to her that I cannot do anything but pray.  We prayed together.  We prayed separately.  I asked God for a miracle because there was nothing else I could do at that point.  She stepped out to call her grandmother to ask her to pray as well.  I was praying the rosary when all of a sudden, out of no where a man walked over and asked if he could help us.  I looked at my wife.  I thought it was a joke or couldn’t be true and as quickly as that thought entered, I realized GOD was delivering.  This was truly humbling. He was an American Soldier, temporarily in Germany and about to head back to his home station the next day.  He offered us the floor in his hotel room, ensured the kids had food and provided the $12 we needed to pay for our plane tickets to get home.

We all go through circumstances.  We all face tough times.  Some days the sun shines and other days we face long stretches of storms.  After the storms though, the sun comes out and the crops grow; often with abundance.

In the words of Tenth Avenue North, “This is where the healing begins”.

No matter where you are in life, you can take a moment, ask God to help you, to lead you, to provide you hope.  Personally, I talk to Jesus Christ.

I am thankful for that American Soldier who helped my family as I called out in a time of need.  I am thankful for the inspiration provided by Nick Vujicic, Jeremy Camp, Tenth Avenue North and Matt Madison (https://makeitfunblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/putting-on-the-full-armor-of-god/) .  There are many, many other inspiring people in this world, but my hope is in Christ.

I wish you the best.

Make It Fun!

God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

