Fit Like BOND, James Bond

Like most people, I go through spells; days I feel like working out and days I do not.  Four years ago I was introduced to the P90X workout.  At the time, I was traveling the globe for a year and wanted to stay fit.  I had some great friends who encouraged me and kept me accountable to keep up the workout plan daily.  I began this in October 2009 and continued until March.  I noted tremendous improvements in my size, energy levels and physique.  Also, I became highly flexible. I was not trying to bulk up, only to gather overall strength.  However, I was bulking up.  My wife loved the photos and kept encouraging me.  In January, I added running a half marathon each weekend, sprint work during the week (usually on Wednesdays).  I added intermittent jumping rope. The great thing about jumping rope is it is highly portable and can be performed most anywhere.  Five to fifteen minutes of jumping rope per day can shred some serious calories.  In March, I alternated P90X with the 300 workout (used for the film 300) and continued running 13.1 miles each weekend.  In May of 2010, I began the second edition of P90X with a mentor of mine until I returned home. To say the least, my wife was very impressed.

During 2010-2012 I found the fitness program Insanity to be very user friendly.  I did not need any weights or pull up bars.  The exercises were all using my own body weight.  All I needed were the disks, a laptop, and motivation.  I would perform one burpee for each day I was out of country, continually adding one more to the day’s tally.  I jumped rope, adding 50 more per day for each week I was traveling and the Insanity program.  My cardio fitness dramatically improved.

Two weeks ago, I began swimming.  The first week was just moving fifteen minutes continually in the pool.  Last week was moving thirty minutes continuously.  Swimming is a great cardio workout and builds tone to muscle.  I have been running intermittently, mostly to the pool from work and then back to work.    When the weather warms a bit and the concern of frostbite erases, then I will hop back on my bike to ride to work and home.

This brings me to why I am writing today.  I have posts pending about great winter sports and events I have performed lately with my family.  As it snowed yesterday, we enjoyed a weekend bout of snow, catching snow flakes with our tongues, dancing in the snow-filled sky, watching the Lord of the Rings trilogy and when the kids went to bed, put on the latest James Bond film, Skyfall.

Who doesn’t like adventure, action, fancy cars and tuxedos?  As a child, I wanted to be like James Bond, saving the day, protecting people from bad guys.  While I do like each of the Bond movies (in varying degrees), I really like the latest edition with Daniel Craig.  He appears more fit, is more rough and tough and pertains to current events.  A portion of the movie is set in Scotland.  The UK is producing tremendous films and shows.  Shows like Bond, Doctor Who, the IT Crowd, Monday Monday, Gavin and Stacie, Inspector George Gently, Black Books, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost films, and Downton Abbey.   I shall have future posts on these.

As I mentioned, Bond appears more fit in the latest series. Below, you can find several links to the workout plans I mentioned.  I shall begin including the Daniel Craig-James Bond workout in my future workout sessions as I continue to work towards preparing for a triathlon.

May we all work on our physical, mental, and spiritual fitness.

I wish you the best.

God Bless.

 

For more on films, follow shimky’s link: http://wonderfulcinema.wordpress.com

http://www.beachbody.com/product/fitness_programs/insanity.do

http://www.beachbody.com/product/fitness_programs/p90x.do

http://www.crossfit.com/

http://www.menshealth.com/video/celebrities/daniel-craig-workout#/video/all

http://www.menshealth.com/fitness/muscle-building-11

3 thoughts on “Fit Like BOND, James Bond

  1. Pingback: Getting Fit Like BOND, James Bond | makeitfun4thumbs's Blog

  2. Pingback: Workout of the Day | makeitfun4thumbs's Blog

  3. Pingback: Thankful | makeitfun4thumbs's Blog

Leave a Reply

