Crêpes are Fun

Bon jour. Today, I bring to you a recipe for fluffer nutter crêpes. Growing up, I looked forward to my grandparents making their ” rolled-up pancakes”. They have passed on many years ago without passing on to me the recipe. I set out to try to recreate it six years ago. Since then, I discovered what I thought to be rolled up pancakes were actually crêpes. My wife purchased a Julia Childs cookbook and since then, I have made sweet cinnamon crepes for my family most weekends. This basic recipe has brought so much joy to my family and each member loves to help make it as much as they enjoy eating it. Tonight, I made a variation after digging through the pantry. We had a few things laying about and I followed my family’s request; fluffer nutter crêpes. I made the basic crêpe recipe as prescribed by Julia. (ingredients and publisher information below)

**It is important to set in the fridge for at least two hours to allow the molecules to become a brilliant compound.
**Heat your pan to a low-medium setting, coat the pan with a pat of butter.
**Once it has been satisfied with a bit o butter, paint the pan with a thin layer of batter. When you can gently lift the edges with a spatula, slide it under, and flip.
** Immediately add your filling and begin rolling with the spatula. With a second (spatula, wooden crêpe stick, other implement), hold the developing crêpe in place as you roll. Remove from the heat before the crêpe becomes stiff. Place on a plate and decorate.

I find that the first crêpe or two are a test and are usually given to the dog.

You shall find the basic crêpe recipe from Julia Childs’ Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Knopf, Borzoi Books, 2010; page 191.

1 cup cold water
1 cup cold milk
4 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups flour (scooped and leveled)
4 Tb melted butter
( I add a dash of vanilla extract, grated nutmeg, and cinnamon to the mix)

For sweet cinnamon crêpes, I add a mixture of white granulated sugar and cinnamon mixed to the inner aspect before rolling then decorate the outer with a pinch.

For fluffer nutter, place a dollop of creamy peanut butter and marshmallow fluff.

Use you imagination; be creative. Crêpes can be used for any meal.

In addition, pages 21-23 of Crêpes, 50 Savory and Sweet Recipes from Martha Holmberg, published by Chronicle Books in 2012 has several techniques with photos how to fold and role your crêpes.

Enjoy. Make it fun!

7 thoughts on “Crêpes are Fun

  1. Crêpes have been on my “foods to make” list for at least 2 years now! I’m intimidated by flipping them without tearing… And my brother makes them so often with his friends that he’ll make me one whenever I ask!

  2. Pingback: Omelets | makeitfun4thumbs's Blog

  3. Pingback: Coconut Crepes | makeitfun4thumbs's Blog

Leave a Reply

